Monday, 5 October 2009

DJ-KICKS Compiled and Mixed by Chromeo

Title : DJ-KICKS mixed by Chromeo
Genre : Electronic
Format : 1xCD
Label : !K7 Records
Catalog# : K7247CD
Release Date : 05/10/2009
Tracks : 18
Play Time : 56.57

The Montreal duo Chromeo continues in hot pursuit of the funk on the latest installment of DJ-KiCKS, !K7’s acclaimed DJ mix series that has resulted in classic, definitive sets from artists like Kruder & Dorfmeister, Playgroup, Tiga, Erlend Oye and Hot Chip, to name but a few. (It’s first DJ-KiCKS, in fact, since Booka Shade’s 2007 contribution).
True to the series’ standard, Chromeo’s selection takes in sounds you’d be hard-pressed to hear almost anywhere else: early ’80s disco and R&B that sound little like the Italo and space disco currently enjoying a rise in hipster cred. Bursting with robo-funk basslines and plastic handclaps, swollen with strings and keyboards and vocals, it celebrates an oft-derided side of ’80s pop. Amidst gems from the likes of Leo Sayer, France Joli and even The Alan Parsons Project, the mix also features new tracks from current artists like Lifelike and Chateau Marmont-not to mention Chromeo’s own cover of the Eagles’ “I Can’t Tell You Why.”

01. Kano - Ikeya-Seki
02. Pierre Perpall - J'aime Danser Avec Toi
03. Toba - Moving Up
04. France Joli - Gonna Get Over You
05. Donna Allen - Serious
06. Lovelock - Maybe Tonight
07. Château Marmont - Solar Antapex
08. Val Young - Seduction
09. Soupir - Larmes de Métal
10. Lifelike - Sequencer
11. Carmen - Time To Move
12. Shotgun - Don't You Wanna Make Love
13. Cheri - Murphy's Law
14. Leo Sayer - Easy To Love
15. Shazam - Luckier
16. Chromeo - I Can't Tell You Why (DJ-KiCKS)
17. Diane Tell - Tes Yeux
18. The Alan Parsons Project - Pipeline