Monday, 11 February 2008

Solvent - Demonstration Tape (1997-2007)

Artist : Solvent
Title : Demonstration Tape (1997-2007)
Genre : Electronic
Style : Electro/Synth-Pop
Format : 2xCD
Label : Ghostly International
Catalog# : GI70CD
Release Date : 28/01/2008
Tracks : 27
Play Time : 62.29+65.02

Demonstration Tape (1997-2007) is a 2-disc retrospective compilation, commemorating Solvent's 10-year career in electronic music. Late-2007 saw Solvent touring all over the world, including stints opening for VNV Nation (certainly the biggest name in today's EBM/Gothic scene), and with Freezepop (heroes to synthpop kids and Guitar Hero enthusiasts worldwide). "Demonstration Tape" was originally conceived and compiled by Solvent, in order to sell at the shows, and to serve as an introduction to the Solvent catalog for these newest listeners.
In January 2008, Ghostly International will release "Demonstration Tape" to the public at large, both as a limited edition double-cd (700 copies only), and in digital format. The 27-track collection documents all the 'hits' of the past decade, as well as some of Solvent's own personal favorites, many of which have been long out of print. Also featured are 3 previously unreleased songs, including Solvent's latest vocoder pop track and recent live-set favorite, "In Light".
So what does 10 years of Solvent sound like? Well, Solvent has created his own unique version of electro-pop: too elegant and sincere for the electroclash set, too complex and contemporary to sound like it was recorded in 1981, and too seeped in the time-honored traditions of melody, songwriting and hands-on synthesis to be lost in the overcrowded world of laptop-techno.
During his career, Solvent has been embraced by a diverse demographic of music listeners and "Demonstration Tape" makes it clear that Solvent's music transcends simple genres. There's slow, romantic electronica ballads ("Duckie," "A Panel of Experts," "An Introduction to Ghosts"), driving, dark electro bangers ("Think Like Us," "Creepy Crawler," "Built-In Microphone"), and pretty much every mood, tempo and emotion in between. Consistently, you'll hear strong, memorable hooks, engaging melodies, and a purist's palette of warm, organic analog synthesizer tones.
Also included are several examples Solvent's exemplary vocoder-synthpop sound, featuring hits like "For You," "'Wish," and (of course) Solvent's signature song, "My Radio," still a dance-floor staple everywhere from techno clubs in Ibiza to goth clubs in Berlin.
"My Radio remembers these Cocoon Closing Parties in Amnesia... a clear anthem...
Demonstration Tape (1997-2007) is exclusively here...on sashasretroemporium "

01. Science With Synthsizers
02. In Light
03. Wish
04. Hello Pop
05. Basildon
06. Creepy Crawler
07. Think Like Us
08. Pineapple Boy
09. Googly Eyes
10. For You Bonus
11. A Panel of Experts
12. Sample & Hold
13. My Blue Car
14. An Introduction to Ghosts (Extended)

15. My Radio (Extended)†
16. Flexidisc
17. Built-in Microphone
18. Black Turtleneck
19. Quiet Life
20. Tonka Truck
21. When The Sun Hits
22. Duckie
23. Some Assembly Required

24. Flexidisc (Adult. Remix)
25. Think Like Us (Alter Ego Remix)
26.My Radio (The Mitgang Audio Remix)
27. For You (JDSY Remix)
Part1 \\\ Part2 \\\ Part3


Nightlight said...

The rar was bugged (part 2, I think).

Thanx for the goob job you're doing.

If you like, check my page:

Nightlight said...

Actually, it was the rapidshare link that was bugged, z-share worked OK. Thanx again

s o l v e n t said...

This is Jason/Solvent - Please remove this entry in your blog ASAP - If anyone wants to download this album, it's available legally from Beatport, iTunes, etc.