Tuesday, 4 March 2008

You Don't Know - Ninja Cuts

Title : You Don't Know: Ninja Cuts
Genre : Electronic/Funk/Soul/Hip Hop/Rock
Style : Folk Rock\Indie Rock\House\Drum'n'Bass\Cut-up/DJ\Grime\Downtempo
Format : 3xCD
Label : Zen Cuts
Catalog# : ZENCD150
Release Date : 03/03/2008
Tracks : 49
Play Time : 70.50+77.33+76.10

The latest “Ninja Cuts” is number five in a series of classic compilations which have studded Ninja’s 18 years of existence. And, like its predecessors, “You Don’t Know” serves as a signpost of both where the label has come from and where it’s heading. Although there are tracks on this three CD package dating back as far as 1998 (Mike Ladd’s rare classic “Blah Blah”) there are also 9 unreleased tracks (from some of Ninja Tune's biggest acts like Mr Scruff, Cinematic Orchestra, Coldcut and others), some from albums which won’t be released until later in the year (John Matthias’ fragile, ethereal “Evermore” leaps to mind, or Pop Levi’s superb, princely “Dita Dimone”). Its fair to say most of this compilation contains rare, alternate and brand new tracks. More than anything else, what “You Don’t Know” shows is the breadth of Ninja’s releases, the sheer ambition and diversity of the music being put out through the imprints of Ninja Tune, Big Dada and Counter.
Where to start? Anyone who thinks they know what to expect from a Ninja Tune compilation is advised to head straight for CD2, track 16, where Baltimore’s The Death Set deliver electro-pop-punk of pure brattish joyfulness. Or the Bug’s “Poison Dart” – harsh dubstep dancehall that’s had FWD bubbling for the last few months. Or check DJ Kentaro’s riotous collaboration with Spank Rock, “Free”. Or the fuzzyfelt-bahia of Long Lost’s “The Art of Kissing”, a folk project by Daedelus. Or the blissful quiescent power of Jaga’s “Swedenborgske Rom”. Or Finks “Pretty Little Thing”. Or…
Some other names you will be expecting. Roots Manuva offers up a couple of rarities on the utterly ill “Seat Yourself” and a version of “Chin High” that’s more Joy Division than J Dilla. The Cinematic Orchestra turn up with the radio version of their scintillating “To Build A Home” plus a new track “Rites of Spring” recorded live at the Barbican in London and a fantastic remix from Susumu Yokota. One of the UK's greatest musical mavericks and pioneer of grime Wiley is on board. Ninja founders Coldcut give early versions and re-rubs from 2006’s “Sound Mirrors” album. Kid Koala destroys the music business single-handed (double-handed?) on “Slew Test 2”. Mr Scruff and Quantic go riding and take us on a bumpy “Donkey Ride”, a brand new track. An unavailable track "Epistemology Suite" by Diplo from a very early deleted 12" is present, Then there’s a heap of remixers and contributors that run from Modeselektor, DJ Shadow, Tiga, RJD2 and the mighty Switch. But even that doesn’t get close.
The list goes on. The best thing to do is to stop reading, put the paper down, press play and just listen…
This will all be celebrated at the mighty You Don’t Know club night over 3 rooms at Electrowerkz, London on 15th February. Full line up details soon…

01. Ghislain Poirier - Blazin' feat. Face-T (Modeselektor Remix)
02. Roots Manuva - Seat Yourself (feat. Ricky Ranking)
03. Bonobo - Nightlite (feat. Bajka - zero dB Reconstruction)
04. Daedelus - Fair Weather Friends
05. Mr Scruff + Quantic - Donkey Ride
06. Pop Levi - Dita Dimoné
07. The Herbaliser - Gadget Funk
08. Spank Rock - Bump (Switch Remix)
09. The Heavy - Coleen
10. Diplo - Epistemology Suite 3: Don't Fall
11. King Geedorah - Next Levels
12. Fink - Pretty Little Thing
13. The Cinematic Orchestra - To Build A Home (Radio Version)
14. Amon Tobin - Bloodstone
15. John Matthias - Evermore

01. Roots Manuva - Chin High (Manuvadelics version)
02. Wiley - No Qualms (Re-vox feat. Chipmunk, JME & Skepta)
03. Hexstatic - Distorted Minds (feat. Juice Aleem - zero DB remix)
04. The Qemists - Drop Audio (feat. ID)
05. NMS - Brave New World
06. Mike Ladd - Blah Blah
07. DJ Shadow - Bring Madlib Up
08. The Cinematic Orchestra - Rites Of Spring (Live at The Barbican)
09. Max & Harvey - Thieves
10. cLOUDDEAD - Physics Of A Unicycle
11. The Bug - Poison Dart
12. Coldcut - Just For The Kick (Original version)†
13. Coldcut - Walk A Mile In My Shoes (Tiga mix edit)
14. Pest - Pat Pong (Solid Groove mix)
15. TTC - Travailler (Orgasmic remix)
16. The Death Set - Around the World
17. Yppah - Again With The Subtitles

01. DJ Kentaro - Enter The Newground
02. Coldcut - Atomic Moog (The Qemists Remix)
03. RJD2 - True Confessions
04. Kid Koala - Slew Test 2
05. DJ Kentaro - Free (feat. Spank Rock - Armani XXXChange Remix)
06. Ty - Wait a Minute (Dwele Remix)
07. Homelife - Seedpod
08. One Self - Fear The Labour
09. The Cinematic Orchestra - Breathe (Susumu Yokota Remix)
10. Loka - Beginningless
11. Bonobo - Hatoa
12. Ammoncontact - Infinity of Rhythm Instrumental
13. The Long Lost - The Art Of Kissing
14. Fog - Melted Crayons
15. Blockhead - Sunday Seance
16. Jaga - Swedenborgske Rom
17. Bigg Jus - Say Goodbye
Part1 \\\ Part2 \\\ Part3 \\\ Part4

No comments: